So.. pre delivery appt

• 6 Replies

Offline ffiscool

So.. pre delivery appt
« on: July 14, 2017, 15:44:15 »
So, I rang the dealer today, re my new car,as not heard anything for a week.  He said the car is there and we now need to sort a pre delivery appointment.  I asked what that was as this dealer is not local to me, and I bought my current car from them without going to them either.

He said that I have to go there to see the car, as because it would then be a distance sale, if I don't, I could send the car back within 12 months if something is not right.

I said I have never done that before and don't intend to now.. I cannot go in the week, as I work full time and I have a sick parent, so the earliest Saturday IF I choose to go there, is not for another 3 weeks.

But surely, if there is something wrong with the car, as in damage to the outside, I would not accept it anyway.  If there is a mechanical issue that occurs it would go to the local dealer for repair under warranty.

They are happy to deliver the car, as they are taking mine in part exchange, so why can this PDA not happen then.

I am awaiting a call back after the guy speaks to his manager.

My last however many cars have been distance sales (including this dealer).

Nothing to say that if I go to do this there, that when they deliver it, something hasn't happened en route anyway and same goes for my car.

I said I would not have dealt with them and would have gone locally, if I had known about this.
ix20 Premium Nav auto, silver

Offline Ruperts Trooper

So.. pre delivery appt
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 16:45:16 »
It's BS - I bought the Touareg through an online broker ordered through a dealer some distance - all the paperwork was done electronically with document scans attached to emails, including the paperwork covering the fact that it WAS a distance sale.