PCPs

• 9 Replies

Offline ffiscool

PCPs
« on: June 27, 2017, 23:05:41 »
hi, I have never done a PCP before, but there is a deal where an extra £1000 would be contributed by the dealer for taking one out.  I read on Martyn Lewis' site, that often these can be paid off, after 6 months, or you pay a massive chunk after 6 months and then say 1 month later, you pay the balance, so that the interest paid for redeeming early is only on the lower amount.

Apologies if I have asked this before, I cannot find it...

So, I just wondered, has anyone here recently taken a PCP out with the dealer, or paid off an amount early but obviously still benefited from the extra discount by taking the PCP in the first place.

Thanks for any thoughts
ix20 Premium Nav auto, silver

Offline Jon

PCPs
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2017, 13:59:41 »
its a commonly used strategy. You'll have to read the small print carefully when you sign up. Ford were recently doing big discounts for taking out a PCP deal that could be paid off after a month. No interest penalty but it was a 0% deal.
Hyundai 2016 Santa Fe Premium SE Auto with Convenience pack
Previously drove 2011 Santa Fe Premium 7 seat man.
Also ride a 2 wheeled Triumph and fly a 22 wheeled Airbus.

Offline ffiscool

PCPs
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2017, 14:15:16 »
wow.. thanks... I am hoping the interest rate comes down a bit, as it nears September as I am not fussed with the new plate, so can buy in July or August

Offline Jon

PCPs
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2017, 09:31:11 »
I am eligible for the Hyundai Affinity scheme. Dealers don't always mention it as there's little incentive for them to supply a car through it. But the finance with an Affinity is high at 6.9%.
Instead I took out a loan from Sainsbury's bank at a much lower rate. It's fully flexible so I can pay off early.

It's worth comparing all options. The PCP with discount may well work out best, especially if you can pay it off and refinance. Check the small print before you sign up.